Home > General > Crowds Set Fire to Tunisian Police Station

Crowds Set Fire to Tunisian Police Station

TUNIS, Tunisia — Crowds have pillaged and burned a police station in a Tunisian town where officers had shot and killed two demonstrators.

The violence in Kef over the weekend is the worst since autocratic Tunisian President Zine El Abidine Ben Ali was forced into exile Jan. 14 after a month of nationwide protests.

A caretaker government is running the North African country, but tensions remain high.

Tunisia’s TAP news agency says that demonstrators pillaged documents and equipment from the police building on Sunday before setting it afire.

The army responded by encircling local government buildings.

On Saturday, police fired at an angry crowd of 1,000 people attacking the police station in Kef, killing at least two people and injuring 17.

___

February 06, 2011 12:19 PM EST

Copyright 2011, The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  1. February 10, 2011 at 5:23 am

    I just want to say I am just beginner to blogging and really liked your page. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You actually come with tremendous writings. Thanks for sharing your blog site.

    • February 10, 2011 at 8:37 am

      Well, thank you so much and best of luck on your blog. We will be posting blogging tips soon. Stay tuned!

  2. March 8, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

  3. March 8, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know. The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Kudos

  4. March 9, 2011 at 1:29 am

    many thanks for discussing

  5. March 11, 2011 at 9:48 am

    Awesome web site you have ghere btw

  6. March 26, 2011 at 12:45 am

    To follow up on the up-date of this subject matter on your web-site and would wish to let you know just how much I treasured the time you took to create this beneficial post. Within the post, you actually spoke on how to seriously handle this issue with all ease. It would be my personal pleasure to collect some more ideas from your web page and come up to offer others what I have learned from you. I appreciate your usual good effort.

  7. April 23, 2011 at 2:39 am

    I’m so rubbish at video games. Sheamus keeps climbing out of the ring! But at least now I can actually get him back in again.

  8. January 5, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  9. July 21, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to
    brand new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

